Skip to content

A Lovely Week on the Costa Blanca

April 16, 2013

This week I have been truly spoilt by Espe and Tom in their lovely home on the Costa Blanca.

Me and Espe

Me and Espe

I have settled into a Southern Spanish lifestyle incredibly quickly and I think I might be taking this new found relaxed approach with me! My typical day over the last week has involved getting up at a reasonable hour to go for a run and this week I have done some incredible average pace times as well as running on the beach barefoot – although I still don’t think I’m any sort of competition for Pamela Anderson!

Footprints in the sand

Footprints in the sand

Having showered and had breakfast on the balcony in the sun, I then settle in to do some writing. This week I’ve written two articles to be published and got another one published on our new page at EzineArticles. Check them out at this link: http://ezinearticles.com/?Visiting-Berths-in-St-Tropez-Harbour—Is-It-Possible?&id=7589152

Enjoying the sun

Enjoying the sun

We’ve also had time for a couple of trips out to explore the local area. We are surrounded by orange groves here, many left to ruin, so I’m off scrumping this afternoon! We’re also surrounded by jasmine trees and the smell wafting on the breeze is intoxicating! Once the work for the morning is done, we have enjoyed a delicious lunch every day. When I say lunch, it’s actually the main meal of the day at about 2.30pm and by the time we’ve finished it’s almost English High Tea time! Espe has cooked me some delicious treats, one of which was a Columbian chicken dish and another was plaintain baked with guava and cheese – delicious!

Spanish christening

Spanish christening

On Sunday we went in to town and had a lovely stroll around the old streets, saw the Borja statues and had a long chat with a local guy! To recover from the chat we paused in a square for a drink outside a church. The next thing I knew, sweets were flying form the doors and children were scrabbling around to collect them – a Spanish christening tradition.

Spanish christening gown

Spanish christening gown

After lunch I have been taking a walk on the beach to help digestion, followed by some more work before a light tea and bed!

My focus has now shifted as First Essential is fast approaching from Lanzarote. I am now on weather watch for our onward journey to France and so far all I know is that the Golfe du Lion is going to be very windy! Every day this week the forecast has changed but one thing’s for sure – they’re expecting the Mistral. this isn’t as bad as it sounds though as the wind direction is Northwest, so a good direction to help us along and hopefully the sea will keep quite flat as it’s an offshore wind. Whatever happens, we won’t be in it long as we’ll be plowing along at about 10 knots, making our journey time nice and quick!

Mexican Rice

Mexican Rice

Today I made lunch and to jazz up a roast chicken we had this delicious Mexican Rice recipe I found on Pinterest. It’s good enough for me so it’s now on my Pinterest board which you can find here: http://pinterest.com/essentialsailin/fabulous-food-we-ve-created-onboard/

So next time I post on here, I’ll be back on board and will hopefully have some tales of the high seas (although I’m really hoping it’s more like tales of calm seas and sunshine!). Adios!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

