Skip to content

Sailing Holidays: Changing Horizons

April 11, 2013

This week it feels like I’ve seen a lot of the world! Having been in the UK for 3 months solid, it was nice to escape and know that I was heading to warmer climes. My first stop was a visit to the yacht in Lanzarote.

Puerto Calero, Lanzarote

Puerto Calero, Lanzarote

On my arrival, the boat was looking rather sandy, a by-product of Sahara winds, but by the evening was sparkling again. The next couple of days I spent cooking to fill the freezer for the delivery guys, as well as doing some odd jobs, including refixing a drawer front to the drawer, putting in a new diode pack for the fuel and water gauges, as well as emptying the bow locker. By Monday evening, the crew had arrived, kindly supplied by Fowey Maritime Centre, the freezer was full of Canary Stew, Shepherd’s Pie, Chicken Curry, Sausage, beans and potato, and Italian Chicken – one thing’s for sure, they’ll be well fed! Having waved them off on Tuesday morning with full bellies courtesy of the Irish Pub’s full English, I embarked on the next part of my journey.

The Motley Crew

The Motley Crew

By Tuesday night, after a terrible flight, I was in Barcelona. Sadly I had an aisle seat so didn’t get to see as much of the amazing views as I would have liked from the plane and once on the ground I didn’t have time for exploring. My hotel was next to the train station, and a quick tea of pate, bread and salad with popcorn for pudding did the job!

Barcelona

Barcelona

The next day I got to experience the Spanish public transport system. It is incredibly efficient and thanks to The Man in Seat 61,  www.seat61.com I had bought my ticket in advance, printed my ticket and just had to turn up! The train was fabulous, huge seats, loads of leg room, no invasion of your neighbour’s personal space on tight bends, high speed, stunning views and by early afternoon I was in Valencia. A very quick change and I was on  my way to Gandia, where I am meeting the yacht later this week.

Piles

Piles

This morning I completed a run in the sun and it was warm and glorious. The sea is currently glassy and the wind is calm. I’m looking forward to being back on board First Essential and cruising across to France next week. By the first of May she’ll be ready to go and hopefully we’ll be back in the French sunshine enjoying morning croissants and maybe even the occasional dip in the sea!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kath permalink
    April 11, 2013 11:31 am

    Did you get time to spend in Valencia? One of my favourite places, with a great park running through the middle – which was the old river bed. Hope you are well and warm – raining and cold here!

    • April 11, 2013 6:35 pm

      Hi Kath, I only spent about 10 minutes there as I was just changing trains but the views from the train would certainly encourage me back! Lovely and sunny today. X

Leave a Reply

